logo logo
TokyoTech and IIT Guwahati Joint Workshop
Condensed Matter and High-Energy Physics
Nov. 11-12, 2019
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan
ws photo
(link to the workshop photos)
Invited Speakers
Local Organizers
Update record
2019.10.12 updated
The Department of Physics, IIT Guwahati (IITG) and The School of Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech) and the Department of Physics, IIT Guwahati (IITG) had signed an MOU in March 2017 to establish long term research collaborations involving faculty members and students from both institutes. There have been a few visits of faculty members to each otherfs institute to pursue this objective, and it has led to the joint workshop between Tokyo Tech and IITG at the former institute in November 11 and 12 2019. In this workshop there will be talks by faculty members from both institutes and students from Tokyo Tech on cold atoms, low dimensional interacting systems, statistical mechanics, topological materials, electronic structure calculations, nuclear physics, cosmology, astrophysics, flavour physics and neutrino physics. Possibilities for collaborations between faculty members and student visits will be discussed during the workshop. Guwahati IIT
  • Prof. Saurabh Basu
  • Prof. Girish Setlur
  • Prof. Subhradip Ghosh
  • Dr. Tapan Mishra
  • Dr. Pankaj Mishra
  • Dr. M.C.Kumar
  • Dr. Debasish Borah
  • Dr. Debaprasad Maity
  • Dr. Santabrata Das
  • Prof. Akihisa Koga
  • Prof. Daisuke Jido
  • Prof. Masahiro Kuze
  • Prof. Tomohiro Sasamoto
  • Prof. Hidetoshi Nishimoni
  • Prof. Masahide Yamaguchi
  • Prof. Shuichi Murakami
  • Prof. Toshimasa Fujisawa
  • Prof. Susumu Saito
  • Prof. Nobuyuki Kawai
  • Msc. Keisuke Fujii
  • Msc. Atsumi Saito
  • Msc. Reona Arai
  • Msc. Kentaro Nagase

Main Building in Ookayama Campus, Tokyo Institute of Technology 2-12-1 Ookayama, Meguro-ku, Tokyo 152-8550, Japan The workshop will be held at Room H284 A/B (map) how to get to H284
Program If you like to have a PDF version, please click here.
Nov. 11th (Mon)
  • 9:00-09:30 Workshop Registration
Chair: Prof. Katsushi Ito
  • 09:30-10:00 (25+5) Prof. Akihisa Koga
    Ferromagnetic instability for the single-band Hubbard model in the strong-coupling regime
  • 10:00-10:30 (25+5) Dr. Tapan Mishra
    Quantum walk of multi-body interacting bosons
  • 10:30-10:50 (15+5) Msc. Keisuke Fujii
    Hydrodynamics with spacetime-dependent scattering length
Coffee Break (10:50-11:05)
Chair: Prof. Katsushi Ito
  • 11:05-11:35 (25+5) Dr. M.C.Kumar
    Resummed predictions for the graviton production at the LHC
  • 11:35-12:05 (25+5) Prof. Daisuke Jido
    Mesons in nuclei and partial restoration of chiral symmetry
Lunch Break (12:05-13:45)
  • 13:45-14:00 (15) Dean Prof. Kotaro Yamada
    Welcome address
Chair: Prof. Osamu Jinnouchi
  • 14:00-14:30 (25+5) Prof. Masahiro Kuze
    Neutrino physics
  • 14:30-15:00 (25+5) Dr. Debasish Borah
    Common Origin of Neutrino Mass, Dark Matter and Baryon Asymmetry of the Universe
  • 15:00-15:20 (15+5) Msc. Atsumi Saito
    Exploration of extremely neutron-rich nuclei with rare-isotope beam experiments
Chair: Prof. Saurabh Basu
  • 15:50-16:20 (25+5) Prof. Tomohiro Sasamoto
    Exact current fluctuations for 1D non-equilibrium many-body systems
  • 16:20-16:50 (25+5) Dr. Pankaj Mishra
    Statistics and Dynamics of the Large Scale Circulation in Turbulent Rayleigh-Benard Convection
Coffee Break & Workshop Photo (16:50-17:05) Chair: Prof. Saurabh Basu
  • 17:05-17:35 (25+5) Prof. Hidetoshi Nishimori
    Quantum computing by quantum annealing
  • 18:00- Banquet at Royal Blue Seiyoken
Nov. 12th (Tue)
Chair: Prof. Yusuke Nishida
  • 09:00-09:30 (25+5) Prof. Masahide Yamaguchi
    Invertible field transformations with derivatives: necessary and sufficient conditions
  • 09:30-10:00 (25+5) Dr. Debaprasad Maity
    Conneting CMB and dark matter phenomenology via reheating
  • 10:00-10:20 (15+5) Msc. Reona Arai
    Finite N Corrections of AdS/CFT Correspondence
Coffee Break (10:20-10:35)
Chair: Prof. Yusuke Nishida
  • 10:35-11:05 (25+5) Prof. Saurabh Basu
    Evolution of Superconductivity by orbital selective confinement in intercalated Bismuth Selenide
  • 11:05-11:35 (25+5) Prof. Shuichi Murakami
    New Horizons of Topological Material Science
Lunch Break (11:35-13:30)
Chair: Prof. Takuya Satoh
  • 13:30-14:00 (25+5) Prof. Toshimasa Fujisawa
    Non-equilibrium dynamics in quantum-Hall Tomonaga-Luttinger liquids
  • 14:00-14:30 (25+5) Prof. Girish Setlur
    Chiral and Non-chiral bosonization of Luttinger Liquids
  • 14:30-14:50 (15+5) Msc. Kentaro Nagase
    Structure and Growth of Bi(110) ultra thin film
Coffee Break (14:50-15:20)
Chair: Prof. Takuya Satoh
  • 15:20-15:50 (25+5) Prof. Subhradip Ghosh
    New materials for magneto-caloric applications
  • 15:50-16:20 (25+5) Prof. Susumu Saito
    Isotope effect on the electronic structure of light-element semiconductors
Coffee Break (16:20-16:35)
Chair: Prof. Subhradip Ghosh
  • 16:35-17:05 (25+5) Dr. Santabrata Das
    Role of pseudo-potentials in studying the accretion flow around black holes
  • 17:05-17:35 (25+5) Prof. Nobuyuki Kawai
    X-ray and optical/NIR observations of black hole X-ray binaries
  • 17:35 Prof. Subhradip Ghosh
    Closing address
The registration fee is 1,000 JPY for non-students. The banquet fee is 5,000 JPY. Please use following email template to send registration info to organizers. click here to send email to iit-ws-registration@phys.titech.ac.jp with template. The workshop banquet will be held at Royal Blue Seiyoken (French cuisine) on the first day evening.
  • Bhanu Das
  • Hiroyuki Hirayama
  • Katsushi Ito (chair)
  • Osamu Jinnouchi
  • Masahiro Kuze
  • Yusuke Nishida
  • Susumu Saito
This workshop is supported by:
  • Department of Physics, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • School of Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • International Education and Research Committee on Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati